USA Skimo Announces 2024-2025 US National Team

Summit County, CO. (May 3, 2024) – The United States Ski Mountaineering Association (USA Skimo) named a record 37 athletes to its 2024-2025 National Team after several qualifying events that took place during the 23/24 race season. Qualifying events consisted of races in the USA Skimo National Cup Series, ISMF World Cup, and ISMF Youth World Cup, making the qualification process some of the most competitive in US ski mountaineering history.

The upcoming winter race season will be critical for USA Skimo as competition for 2026 Winter Olympics quota allocation runs the entirety of the 2024-2025 ISMF calendar in Sprint and Mixed Relay.

Congratulations to all making the 2024-2025 USA Skimo National Team!

Senior Female:
Emmiliese von Avis – Bozeman, MT
Hali Hafeman – Colorado Springs, CO
Gwen Rudy – Leadville, CO
Maria Lamb – Park City, UT
Kelly Wolf – Durango, CO

Senior Male:
Cam Smith – Crested Butte, CO
Tom Goth – Salt Lake City, UT
Arthur Whitehead – Frisco, CO
Jacob Dewey – Gunisson, CO
Jules Goguely – Ogden, UT
John Rauen – Breckenridge, CO
Joseph DeMoor – Carbondale, CO
David Sinclair – Norden, CA
Jeff Mogavero – Missoula, MT
John Gaston – Aspen, CO

U23 Female:
Grace Staberg – Silverthorne, CO

U23 Male:
Sam Burke – Dillon, CO
Wesley Perkins – Park City, UT

U20 Male:
Griffin Briley – Park City, UT
Bryce Ostermiller – Salt Lake City, UT
Tiernan Pittz – Carbondale, CO
Nicholas Rocco – Salt Lake City, UT
Emmet Itoi – Park City, UT
Zane Wasicko – Gunnison, CO
Anders Carlson – Brighton, UT

U20 Female:
Carson Leys – Salt Lake City, UT

U18 Female:
McCall Birkinshaw – Salt Lake City, UT
Sienna Petersen – Salt Lake City, UT
Corrine Higgins – Salt Lake City, UT
Stella Gillespie – Salt Lake City, UT
Samara Shah – Salt Lake City, UT

U18 Male:
Landon Jakob – Salt Lake City, UT
Joshua Itoi- Pak City, UT
Finnegan Brown – Dillon, CO
Benjamin Bigwood – Salt Lake City, UT
Sam Kirshner – Park City, UT
Massimiliano Zaniello – Park City, UT

This season, which spans from May 1, 2024 to April 30, 2025, will feature not only full schedule of national and international racing but also intro to skimo clinics, gear demonstrations, development coaching and a host of sanctioned events across the US for all ability levels and ages. To learn more about the sport, support USA Skimo, and find the full race schedule for the 2024/25 season please visit

About USA Skimo
USA Skimo sanctions and governs competitive ski mountaineering racing in the US and promotes and fosters recreational ski mountaineering through access, resources, education and community.
Sanctioned skimo races in the United States abide by a series of rules, by discipline, as directed by the International Ski Mountaineering Federation (ISMF). USA Skimo is recognized by the ISMF as the national sport organization for the United States.
USA Skimo is a 501(c)(3), non-profit, entity. Funds generated from membership race licenses, corporate sponsorships and generous support from donors are used for athlete development programs and to grow the sport of ski mountaineering in the US. Please consider a financial donation to help support the next generation of USA athletes on the world stage.

About Ski Mountaineering Racing
Ski mountaineering (abbreviated to skimo) racing is a human-powered endurance competition that involves climbing mountains on skis and/or by foot and in many race disciplines, passing through a series of transitions before descending on skis.
Skimo races are timed events that follow an established course through challenging winter alpine terrain. Individual mass start races are the most popular format in the United States, however the sport of skimo can consist of partnered Team events, Sprint circuit heats, team Relay circuit races and bottom-to-top Vertical races.
Skimo will test a participant’s fitness and endurance levels, the participant’s uphill travel and transition proficiency and the participant’s alpine skiing skills (and nerve) to get down the mountain and to the finish line.
Skimo racing is a welcoming sport to all participants with recreational and competitive events held throughout the United States.